Subsection 2.- The Ministry

Canada's system of government is based upon that of the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate), is responsible to Parliament. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of Government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time, or may be without portfolio.

2.—Prime Ministers Since Confederation

Note.—A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422–429. Later Ministries will be found in the corresponding tables of subsequent editions of the Year Book.

Ministry	Prime Minister	Length of Administration
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	Right Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald. Hon. Alexander Mackenzie. Right Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald. Hon. Sir John J. C. Abrott. Hon. Sir John S. D. Thompson. Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell. Right Hon. Sir Charles Tupper. Right Hon. Sir Charles Tupper.	Nov. 7, 1873 - Oct. 16, 1878 Oct. 17, 1878 - June 6, 1891 June 16, 1891 - Dec. 5, 1892 Dec. 5, 1892 - Dec. 12, 1894 Dec. 21, 1894 - Apr. 27, 1896 May 1, 1896 - July 8, 1896
9	Right Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden	Oct. 10, 1911 - Oct. 12, 1917 (Conservative Administration)
10	Right Hon. SIR ROBERT L. BORDEN	
11	Right Hon. ARTHUR MEIGHEN	
12 13 14 15 16	Right Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING Right Hon. Arthur Meighen Right Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING Right Hon. RICHARD BEDFORD BENNETT. Right Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING	Dec. 29, 1921 - June 28, 1926 June 29, 1926 - Sept. 24, 1926 Sept. 25, 1926 - Aug. 6, 1930 Aug. 7, 1930 - Oct. 23, 1935

3.-Members of the Sixteenth Dominion Ministry as at Jan. 1, 1947

(According to precedence of the Ministers)

Office	Occupant	Date of Appointment ¹
Prime Minister, President of the Privy Council	Right Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, C.M.G	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Veterans Affairs	Rt. Hon. IAN ALISTAIR MACKENZIE, K.C.	Oct. 23, 1935 Sept.19, 1939
Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada	Rt. Hon. James Lorimer Ilsley, K.C	Oct. 13, 1944 Oct. 23, 1935 July 8, 1940 Dec. 10, 1946
Minister of Reconstruction and Supply	Rt. Hon. CLARENCE DECATUR HOWE	Oct. 23, 1935 Apr. 9, 1940
Minister of Agriculture Minister of Trade and Commerce	Rt. Hon. James Garfield Gardiner Hon. James Angus MacKinnon	Oct. 13, 1944 Oct. 28, 1935 Jan. 23, 1939
Secretary of State of Canada		May 10, 1940 July 8, 1940 Dec. 12, 1946

For footnote, see end of table, p. 69,